How do I make corporate training videos quickly w/o audience?
March 14, 2017 3:37 PM   Subscribe

How can I make corporate videos quickly? I'd like to start making corporate videos. I want to produce them quickly, but effectively. Tips welcome.

I want to make some training videos. My competitors in this field have gone high end and they have commerical video production backgrounds. I'm not a video expert and it's just me in my business -- I'm solo. I do have an established business and platform, with a lot of experience in content development and teaching and I think (given my other business successes) I have a good opportunity to make connections with people and get the marketing and customer service right. I've been working on this corporate video thing for a year, but I'm really intimidated by my high end competitors. I really need to get where I'm putting out about 3x 15-minute videos a month, maybe more. (My idea is that I take a 45-minute "class" and break it into 3 segments.)

I know how to script. I know how to teach. Usually, when I teach in person, I fill up classes with a lot of student participation and active learning. This isn't just filler -- it's useful. But, in a corporate training video that's just being produced by me, I can't really do the same thing, so it's just more of me talking.

I looked at digital whiteboards, animations, animated PowerPoints and so on, but they either look sloppy (digital whiteboard apps) or they take a long time (animations) or maybe they're boring (Ppts).

So I need to figure out how to get videos out quickly and effectively. Do I just do the talking head thing? I guess maybe what I really need help in doing is making up for the active learning that I can't do when I'm producing video in my home office, without an audience.

(I do not yet want to get into simply recording webinars, because of privacy and permissions.)