Recommended guides and tips for summit/conference planning?
March 9, 2017 8:33 AM   Subscribe

For the first time i am leading planning for a summit/conference type event. While this size event is small, I am new to this and of course want it to go as well as possible - what how-to guides, event planning document templates, articles, books etc. would you recommend? If you have tips from your own experience, they are much appreciated too!

A few further details: It will be small (~20 leaders/experts by invitation) and will be non-profit in nature and it will be tech/innovation themed. Actually it will be about helping to define the mission and goals of a planned non-profit. It will be a very international mix of people, and will take place in Shanghai as an English language event. The focus will be discussion and perhaps coming up with a shared vision or set of principles/ next step actions. It may or may not be public in nature.

Thank you very much for any help.
posted by zresearch to Technology (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

By planning do you mean content or logistics, or will you be responsible for both? I handle logistics for exactly this type of event but not in tech field.
If you want tips for logistics let me know here or via memail.
posted by 15L06 at 12:55 PM on March 9 [1 favorite]

Came in to offer similar support, although my perspective is from the corporate world. Memail if you'd like to discuss.
posted by icaicaer at 8:58 PM on March 9 [1 favorite]

The agenda will drive most of your planning, especially space requirements, which affects location.

This reads as having a retreat-like vibe, so having a relaxing, as well as enticing location sets the tone and helps with creative buy-in.

You may want to use technology to solicit input - a pre-conference survey with opportunities for questions concerns suggestions.