German by Osmosis
September 11, 2016 7:14 PM   Subscribe

I just started learning German, through the standard 101 class at my university. While the textbook/classroom studying is great, I would like to have some low-key resources to read/listen to to supplement my learning. I'm looking for relatively simple-language radio, podcasts, TV, or maybe even (children's?) books that I can wash around in during my spare time. Something that doesn't require 100% brainpower, but that I can still catch the gist of -- that will help train my rhythm/pronunciation/listening by osmosis.

One of the things I found helpful (and fun!) in keeping up my Mandarin flow was watching Chinese-language TV with the subtitles on. It was entertaining and context-rich even if I couldn't catch ~50% of the words sometimes. It was also something that I could just put on in the background, and occasionally I would pick up phrases, words, pronunciations, &c. from the stream.

Thanks!
posted by miniraptor to Writing & Language (20 answers total) 36 users marked this as a favorite

Maybe listen to some German popmusik? I like Silbermond, myself.
posted by TwoStride at 7:18 PM on September 11, 2016 [1 favorite]

A lot of shows on Netflix can be viewed with German dubbing and English subtitles.
posted by bleep at 7:23 PM on September 11, 2016 [1 favorite]

If you're at 101 this might be a little tough, but I loved Langsam Gesprochene Nachrichten (slowly spoken news). It's the news, read by someone who sounds like they took quaaludes 30 minutes before going on air.

Generally Deutsche Welle is a great resource. Here's the page for level A1, which is perhaps where you're at in the European Language Framework.
posted by caek at 7:23 PM on September 11, 2016 [12 favorites]

Slowly spoken news.

For Spanish and French I've been able to find some stuff on netflix, but it can be tricky. This link has some tips on searching for Spanish-language materials; the same principle should apply for German.

Good luck!