Help me, Mr. Piano Man
December 16, 2005 9:43 AM   Subscribe

Bad pianohabitfilter

Being mostly self-taught and rather haphazardly so, I find myself mostly playing sing-along classics. I took lessons years ago and found myself quickly frustrated by a process that only gave me a song and a half after several months' practice.

So yes, I am of the "cheater" school and haters -- y'all know what you can do.

Point being, I find myself making some odd hand positions. Some of this may result from the spurious references I may have used to teach myself the chords in the first place. For example, I've seen chords based on the root of the triad (C: C-G-E) as well as the middle of the triad (C: G-E-C).

I found the root-note triad easier to remember (as the first note struck in a "C" chord should not be, duh, G -- tho I learned trumpet first and am now forever single-note biased that way) but find that it makes for some difficult and cumbersome positionings. C# for example is position/note: 1/C#, 3/F, 5/G#

This makes for kind of a weird hand position where my middle finger is below the first and third. This seems strange and awkward, but so do the ofset triads.

What's a piano hack to do?

(I mean for himself and other than lessons. Its Christmas, damnit, I'm po')
posted by Ogre Lawless to Media & Arts (10 answers total)

Do exercises with all of the triads and inversions. For a C major chord, root position is C E G, first inversion is E G C, and second inversion is G C E. You should be able to play all of them easily.

If you're doing your own thing, you can use whatever fingering is comfortable for you. However, the traditionally correct fingerings, according to my piano book, are as follows:

Left Hand: Root pos.: 5 3 1
1st Inv.: 5 3 1
2nd Inv.: 5 2 1

Right Hand: Root pos.: 1 3 5
1st Inv.: 1 2 5
2nd Inv.: 1 3 5

Practice all the triads and inversions with each hand separately, then together. Start with major triads, then move to minor, diminished, and augmented.