<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

	<title>Comments on: Is this online poker offer legit or not?</title>
	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not/</link>
	<description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post Is this online poker offer legit or not?</description>
	<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:46:38 -0800</pubDate>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:46:38 -0800</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>

	<item>
		<title>Question: Is this online poker offer legit or not?</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not</link>	
		<description>A friend of mine told me about a site that will give you $50.00 on PartyPoker.com just for registering for a certain online poker forum. (mi) &lt;small&gt;This is not advertising, I swear.&lt;/small&gt; &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The website in question &lt;a href=&quot;http://ffdpokerforum.com&quot;&gt;can be seen here&lt;/a&gt;.  I&apos;ve read through the &quot;fine print&quot; and such, and see that you have to play 500 raked hands before you are able to make a withdrawal from your account.  Has anyone already signed up for this offer?  Is this legit or some sort of scam?</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:40:12 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>thatweirdguy2</dc:creator>
		
			<category>poker</category>
		
			<category>freebie</category>
		
			<category>onlinepoker</category>
		
			<category>partypoker.com</category>
		
	</item> <item>
		<title>By: delmoi</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#452962</link>	
		<description>Almost all poker sites have offers like that. They&apos;re legit, but you&apos;ll &lt;i&gt;probably&lt;/i&gt; end up losing the money before getting a chance to withdrawal, along with all the rest of your money to the more experienced players. &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Poker sites make their money by taking a rake, or percentage of the pot in a game. They make money wether you win or lose, though, and if you play well you&apos;ll make even more because of the bonus. &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
I played on ultimatebet.com for a while, they gave me my &apos;bonus&apos; money in little drips as I played.  By the time I had all of it, I&apos;d blown through the $100 I&apos;d posted on there.  I&apos;m not complaining though, I had $100 of fun on there, and you&apos;re not giving your money up to the website, but mostly to the other players.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-452962</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:46:38 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>delmoi</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: delmoi</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#452964</link>	
		<description>Actualy, my guess is that how this works is that partypoker.com has an affiliate program that lets people offer $50 free dollars, and these guys are taking advantage of it.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-452964</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:51:04 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>delmoi</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: reishus</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#452965</link>	
		<description>there are tons of these bonus offers online, and most of them are legit.  they&apos;re offered by &apos;affiliates&apos; of the poker site.  this one really isn&apos;t all that different from any other party signup offers, they&apos;re abundant.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
it usually works like this:  when you make a new account, you type in a code that the affiliate gives you.  this activates your bonus, the site gives you free $50 or whatever, and it lets the site know who referred you as a new poker player - the affilliate.  the affilliate gets money from the site for providing the site with new players.  this is why they are anxious to get you your code.  &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
the hope is that you&apos;ll bring more revenue then they&apos;re paying out if you continue to play.  you can probably take the bonus money and run for a short term profit, but you&apos;ll have to know how to play poker to avoid losing your shirt as you play out the wagering requirement.  500 raked hands kind of a lot of poker.  it&apos;s prob. about 800-1000 hands, which is something like 8-16 hours worth of play on one table.  large range, because it depends on what game your are playing and how many are playing.  and while you&apos;re playing you will pay money to the site in rake.  so what you&apos;re getting is a rake discount.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
i haven&apos;t really looked at this offer specifically.  this is what i know about bonus offers and offers on party in general.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
also, these offers are pretty much a one-shot deal for each site.  after you make a party account you won&apos;t be able to do any other offers like this.  some sites have reload bonuses, but these are different and don&apos;t involve affiliates.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-452965</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 08:52:27 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>reishus</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: delmoi</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#453009</link>	
		<description>It&apos;s also lame that they&apos;re making you sign up for a forum account, and acting like it&apos;s not just a standard bonus that you can get anywhere. &lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
There are actualy websites out there that will list diffrent signup bonuses for various sites.  You can get a lot more then $50.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-453009</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 10:51:09 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>delmoi</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: delmoi</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#453011</link>	
		<description>I have no idea where those websites are, however.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-453011</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 10:54:16 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>delmoi</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: thatweirdguy2</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/28780/Is-this-online-poker-offer-legit-or-not#453060</link>	
		<description>Thanks for the answers, guys.  I actually play at a different online site, so I&apos;m familiar with the rakes, reload bonuses, etc., but this offer struck me as a little odd.  Like you said, delmoi, it is lame that you have to register for a forum account.  I was really wondering if this was some kind of scheme to add people to some telemarketing list or something, or if was just a weird way to attract people to the poker site as well as the forum.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;br&gt;
Eh, I don&apos;t really dig PartyPoker&apos;s interface anyway.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.28780-453060</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Dec 2005 11:56:17 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>thatweirdguy2</dc:creator>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
