Is this online poker offer legit or not?
December 10, 2005 8:40 AM
Subscribe
A friend of mine told me about a site that will give you $50.00 on PartyPoker.com just for registering for a certain online poker forum. (mi)
This is not advertising, I swear.
The website in question
can be seen here. I've read through the "fine print" and such, and see that you have to play 500 raked hands before you are able to make a withdrawal from your account. Has anyone already signed up for this offer? Is this legit or some sort of scam?
posted by thatweirdguy2 to computers & internet (6 comments total)
Poker sites make their money by taking a rake, or percentage of the pot in a game. They make money wether you win or lose, though, and if you play well you'll make even more because of the bonus.
I played on ultimatebet.com for a while, they gave me my 'bonus' money in little drips as I played. By the time I had all of it, I'd blown through the $100 I'd posted on there. I'm not complaining though, I had $100 of fun on there, and you're not giving your money up to the website, but mostly to the other players.
posted by delmoi at 8:46 AM on December 10, 2005