Is a seized electronics auction site a scam?
December 1, 2005 11:17 AM
Subscribe
Is a 'seized electronics' auction site for real or is it a scam?
I found a link to
this seized electronics auctions website on Craigslist. From what I can tell, you pay a fee, and you get access to these auctions and supposedly find great deals, etc. on equipment.
Being a little broke this Christmas season, it seems like a good place to maybe find some decently-priced gifts. But is this really legit? Is there any way for me to tell this is really a good tool, or is this a scam, or am I merely paying a "convenience" fee for information I could find on my own with a little Google-Fu?
posted by TeamBilly to shopping (10 comments total)
Their Whois record lists an address in Stockholm, Sweden, as the main contact:
whois -h whois.crsnic.net seizedelectronics.com ...
...
Air On, Inc.
Ste # 3989
111 74
Stockholm, NA 111 74
SE
Registrar: 000DOM
Domain Name: SEIZEDELECTRONICS.COM
Created on: 30-MAR-04
Expires on: 08-JUL-08
Last Updated on: 04-NOV-05
Administrative, Technical Contact:
On, Air dambul00@yahoo.com
Air On, Inc.
Ste # 3989
111 74
Stockholm, NA 111 74
SE
18665324766
Domain servers in listed order:
COBRA.SIMPLECOM.NET
NS2.SIMPLECOM.NET
NS1.SIMPLECOM.NET
---
That would send up another red flag for me, but I'm the suspicious type.
The only definitively positive thing about them is that they have Google Ads running on Google Groups. If that's the case, the team at Google has vetted them enough to convince themselves that SiezedElectronics.com is a legit site. I've actually had a site declined by Google Ads, so I know their process is pretty stringent.
posted by thanotopsis at 11:30 AM on December 1, 2005