Skip

Wait, who are you again?
August 26, 2014 6:25 PM   Subscribe

I am awful at recognizing people by appearance, how can I get better at it?

I have a pretty fantastic memory for things that I've written down (I remember virtually every phone number that I've ever known, and can visually recall what my notes for classes that I took several years ago looked like and what info they contained), but I have a lot of trouble remembering people's faces that I've met once or twice and had a conversation with. I will generally get a glimmer of recognition, but not enough to recall anything about the interaction or context or even to be sure that we have definitely met before.

This is a problem because I work as an organizer for a non-profit: it is my job to meet a lot of people in various locations and build relationships with them, which is hard if I can't remember who they are. When I meet them, they are generally signing some sort of sign-up sheet, so I can take notes after the interaction if I need to, but I can't figure out what kind of notes would be effective to make me actually recognize them the next time I run into them. I always remember what I write down about them—I will remember John Smith's life story that he told me when we met yesterday, but if I see John Smith in person again, I'll have no idea who he is. Any good hacks for me?
posted by cheerwine to Human Relations (19 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

Write down their name and then google them after the meeting. Find a good photo of them online and make yourself flashcards with the photos and names of people you really need to recall. Train with them a few days a week for 10 minutes or so at a time. (Use Anki or similar spaced repetition software if you want to make it really effective).

I frequently learn all my students' names this way, and I teach 200 or so a semester. I am not naturally good at matching names to faces.
posted by lollusc at 6:28 PM on August 26 [1 favorite]