Join 3,555 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Calculating interest using the effective interest rate?
August 22, 2014 7:02 PM   Subscribe

I need to calculate the interest to be paid on a loan of $300,000 with a term of 4 years where the effective interest rate is 10%, payable monthly in arrears. How do I do this?

This is for a grad assignment - unfortunately I have no accounting background and the professor was unwilling to explain. I've Googled this to death but to no avail as most pages explain how to calculate effective interest rate and not how to calculate the amount of interest itself. There are two other interest payment options as well: 9% payable annually in advance and 7% where the entire 4 years of interest is paid in advance.

The question doesn't state whether the effective interest rate is annual - this is also confusing me.

I've seen how useful MetaFilter is in other situations so hoping someone out there will be able to help, thank you in advance!
posted by herschellie to Work & Money (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Is this an amortizing debt? In other words, are the payments to include repayment of the capital over the 4 years, or is it just intended to be interest-only payments, with no reduction in the $300,000? This affects the amount of interest payable over the term, because with an amortizing loan, as the capital is repaid, the interest is accordingly reduced.

This loan calculator
allows you to put in the amount of the loan, the term of years, the interest rate and whether it's to be amortizing (repayment method) or interest-only.
posted by essexjan at 7:11 PM on August 22

Excel comes with a template, called "Loan Calculator" in my version, that does this. If you look in the cells you can see how it's calculated and it also splits out the interest.
posted by mewsic at 8:36 PM on August 22