Skip

Calling in...intermittently
August 5, 2014 6:52 AM   Subscribe

I have been working for an agency for 8 years in an upper-management position. My new-ish supervisor hates me and is creating a negative/hostile work environment. My doctor thinks I qualify for intermittent FMLA due to workplace related stress. What are people's experiences with using intermittent FMLA? Is it only going to make things worse?

I have been working for a non-profit agency for 8 years in an upper-management position. I was hired as an assistant director reporting to a department director. Over the last 8 years, my title has remained the same but my salary, responsibilities, and number of direct reports have increased greatly. I have received many positive reviews and have been successful in leading my team/department to success in many national-level awards. I have qualified for a merit-based bonus each year and have worked collaboratively with people from all departments in my agency.

Reorganization: When one of the other agency directors left, the department reorganized and my director picked up 4-5 new direct reports. Due to this, a new "assistant director" was hired to supervise myself and the other department assistant director.

I had the opportunity to interview the new manager and expressed serious reservations about her ability to be successful in this role. Others (including the CEO and the other assistant director she was going to supervise) also expressed concerns however the final choice was left to the department director.

After my new supervisor began, many other employees expressed concern about the quality of her work, her rude demeanor, and other shortcomings.

My department director asked me to meet with her to tell her how things were going with the new supervisor. In hind-sight, I believe she wanted me to say everything was rosy, however I was honest about my concerns. I had proper documentation and follow-up for all noted concerns.