Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Perfect career forever
August 3, 2014 10:18 AM   Subscribe

Please help me pick a career. Any career.

I've recently realized two things: 1) My great passions - writing fiction, making music, and arguing about philosophy - aren't going to yield me the big or even medium bux anytime soon, 2) I don't have to love what I do for a job all the time, I just have to like it most of the time.

I'm not especially good or bad at anything. I realize this is the recent university grad mantra, so I'm trying to fix this. I'm looking for a job that's 1) based more on hard skills than people ones, 2) provides a firmly middle-class salary (of course, the more money the better), 3) has mostly regular hours, and 4) is in high or at least moderate demand. In a decade, I'd like to be able to freelance.

I currently work as a project manager, which is turning out to be more about how well I can placate people when my team blows past deadlines. I have been doing this type of job for four years, and would like to avoid coordination-heavy jobs going forward.

Skillset analysis: I majored in poli sci, so research and writing are no problem for me. My French is business passable. I've taken introductory classes to web design (HMTL, CSS, js), marketing, and copy editing.

Resources: I want a new career within a year. I have $10k to dedicate to this, and three hours a day.
posted by rebooter to Work & Money (13 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

You didn't say anything about math, but what about working as an actuary? It meets your 4 main qualifications (though I'm not sure about freelancing opportunities). I'm not positive how feasible doing it within 1 year is, but it's worth looking into if it's of interest. I believe you can work as an actuary only having passed the exams, regardless of what your degree is.
posted by obfuscation at 10:25 AM on August 3 [3 favorites]