Join 3,574 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Less Cher Horowitz, More Julie Andrews
August 3, 2014 5:58 AM   Subscribe

In 6-8 months, I'll be finishing school and and looking to start practicing as a professional independently in my field. I don't want to go into detail, but I will be a health professional who will be responsible for preserving lives in potentially dire situations. I'm smart and capable, but I don't always sound like I am. I need to learn to speak more elegantly, eloquently, and beautifully so I will inspire confidence in clients and potential clients. I'm a female from a sort of upper middle class background from southern CA with a host of less charming and confidence inspiring collloquialisms (like saying 'like' like a whole lot!). Right now I'm a student living on student money so I can't afford private coaches or expensive lessons. The ideal for me would be to sound like Julie Andrews in The Princess Diaries (of course I don't want to fake her accent though, just speak in the same manner). I'm at a loss on where to start.
posted by anonymous to Writing & Language (16 answers total) 21 users marked this as a favorite

For my field - I practiced saying relevant phrases until they became route memory. We fill the silences on our sentences with phrases like "like, you know, sort of, etc etc" until we collect our thoughts enough to continue speaking. So I had canned phrases like " you want to ensure you have traceability throughout each of the specifications and protocol." Because it's a memorized phrase - I don't need to stop and start with like, you need umm to have some kind of connection like a trace matrix or something? When speaking to a client.

Also - actively practice lowering the pitch of your voice and "up speak." It doesn't matter how eloquent what you are saying is, if you ask it like a little girl asking a question - it undermines any professional tone it may have taken otherwise.

Best of luck!