Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Where to get individual health care in California
July 30, 2014 1:54 PM   Subscribe

In a few months, I'll be turning 26 and kicked off my dad's policy.

I'm a contractor, so I don't have benefits. Is my best option, in California, to enroll with Covered California? I am currently with Palo Alto Medical Foundation, and I really like them. Would I be able to stay with them? I know I can call Covered California and ask more questions, but I wanted to get an idea if they are the people I should be calling.

The plan is also to get married mid 2015, so I don't know if this would affect the kind of plan I'm looking for.

Any insight into this would help.

Thank you!
posted by madonna of the unloved to Health & Fitness (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I'm a contractor, so I don't have benefits. Is my best option, in California, to enroll with Covered California? I am currently with Palo Alto Medical Foundation, and I really like them. Would I be able to stay with them?

Is Palo Alto the medical group you see or the health insurance company you have? I used to have Sharp (a widespread, multi-faceted health care provider) as my medical provider, but my insurance was under blue shield. You may want to check with Palo Alto to see what insurance they accept, but I'd guess that you'd still be able to see them somehow. They'd probably be the first people to talk to to find out how. Covered California had a range of plans from every insurance system I've ever heard of (Blue Shield, Kaiser, Healthnet, etc.), so it's quite likely that you can still see your provider.