Skip

Help a Newbie Figure Out How to Buy A Car
July 29, 2014 10:02 AM   Subscribe

I'm an inexperienced driver in LA who is starting researching how to buy a car (I'm considering both new and used at this point but probably the latter is more likely; I'll definitely be going to some dealer showrooms) for the first time. I don't know much about cars and I am feeling a bit lost.

It's all new to me and any tips would be much appreciated. I am a nervous driver and want something that is very safe and easy to use; it should also be very economical (and ideally eco-friendly) . I'm a single guy, so a compact car would be fine, probably preferable. I'm more interested in functionality than style (though naturally that would be a plus too).

Especially with the LA area in mind -
What steps should I take in my research process?
Which information resources/ articles etc. should I read?
Are there any hacks and specials secrets I should know about the buying and financing process?
Are there any car brands/models people especially suggest?
Thanks very much for any help!
posted by zresearch to Shopping (13 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

the main thing about buying a used car is, have it checked out by your own mechanic. Any seller who objects to this is to be avoided.
posted by thelonius at 10:15 AM on July 29 [1 favorite]

Here are a couple of things I have learned about buying cars.