Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What if I don't want to be a lifer?
July 26, 2014 7:17 AM   Subscribe

How do I find a new job when I've only worked one place for the decade-plus since finishing college?

I've been working at the same company for 12 years - I started here about a year after graduating college. In that time I have made 2 major position changes in my time here - both diagonal, moving to a totally different area of the company as well as up in terms of pay & responsibilities. But now I've been in the same position for about 7 years, with pretty much no chance of further advancement in the foreseeable future (very few positions above my level, all filled with people who have been here longer than I have and don't seem likely to leave until they retire.) I'm ready for new challenges. My commute also got significantly longer a few years back and I am thoroughly sick of it, so I'm thinking it's time to move on.

I'd love to hear any tips for finding a new position/employer in this situation, and also answers to these specific questions:

• Should I split the three positions into 3 separate entries on my resume? I've had them all as one entry as it's all the same employer, but it looks kind of odd to have the duties from such different positions all in the same list.

• Do I bother keeping any of the jobs I had before I started here on my resume? I had a couple of insignificant temp positions during the year between college and starting, which I've already eliminated from my resume, but what about the jobs I had while in college? Does anyone care about my time as an RA or camp director this many years later? If I leave them off will it look strange to have only the one employer on my resume at all?