Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How to de-mold an air conditioner?
July 24, 2014 1:20 PM   Subscribe

Hi, I have 2 window A/Cs that are pretty standard as far as those things go. They have a ton of black mold in the output fan area, and presumably within the A/C workings themselves. Is there any way to reliably get rid of this mold? Or should I simply replace them (possible, if not ideal?)
posted by the young rope-rider to Home & Garden (3 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Have you considered scrubbing them down with and then running a vinegar or bleach solution through it? I have no experience with A/C units, but this is what I do with my humidifier when it gets moldy (when I let it sit too long with the water in it without running it). I use a toothbrush or other small brush to scrub everything with a 10% bleach solution or 50-50 vinegar/water solution, rinse with the solution a few times, then with clean water a few times and let it dry completely before using it again.

There must also be some information from the manufacturer about how to deal with mold--I doubt it's an uncommon problem--so it might be worth a call or email to them to try to find out what they recommend.
posted by GoLikeHellMachine at 2:50 PM on July 24

We just successfully cleaned one using this method. In the future we'll basically do this every year when we remove them, it was something that slipped our radar coming from a drier climate.

If you've already installed and used them it might be worthwhile to give things a wipedown with something like a bathroom mildew cleaner, and give upholstery a good cleaning, just in case they've spit out any spores already.
posted by padraigin at 5:18 PM on July 24