Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can you help with a LinkedIn summary?
July 23, 2014 8:45 AM   Subscribe

So pretty much everything is filled in nicely on my LinkedIn profile, except the part where I summarize myself and my objectives. Ugh...

I am currently looking for work, trying to cover all necessary bases including a robust LinkedIn profile. Although I'm not sure how I should best summarize my objectives given my experience.

Quick background: I have a Masters in Applied Geography/Urban Planning/Econ Development. Out of grad school, I got hired on with an emergency management government contractor; was with them from 2006 until last August. I relocated and had to give notice. But I stayed on with them as a consultant until March of this year. That worked out fine, but it's not steady work. I was also fine with giving notice because I was open to finding other opportunities.

My problem is that, while I have "consultant" listed on my LinkedIn, it's not my only preference. I am open to contract work or full-time, heck even a decent part-time gig. Also, my profile includes several other positions that I've held other than emergency management because I'd also like to remain open to other fields, EM-related or not. I would even be open to administrative assistant-type jobs if it was for a good, solid company/agency. (I have also applied to local government planning - and other- positions, but haven't even got an interview.)

I don't know if I'm getting my point across (see?) - all I know is that my interests and what I would/could possibly do are ALL over the place, so how do I not come across as such a scatter-brain in my summary?? Help! Thank you very much for any direction.
posted by foxhat10 to Work & Money (4 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite