Skip

How should you approach a bar essay question if you blank on the answer?
July 22, 2014 1:26 PM   Subscribe

I'm taking the bar next week. (IL if it matters). I feel strong in some areas, weak in others. Strengths and weaknesses I can handle, but there's one situation that I'm nervous about. How should approach a question if I just flat out blank on the rule of rule?

None of my bar prep materials have addressed this possibility, and I'm slightly embarrassed to bring it up in real life.

Of course, I'll take a moment to calm myself down and clear my head. But how should I tackle a question if I simply don't know how to answer what it's asking?
posted by helloimjohnnycash to Law & Government (21 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I am not a lawyer. I have never taken the bar.

I think there are two separate questions here:

1. What should you do if you blank?
2. What should you do if you don't know the answer.

Presumably you're already doing everything possible to prevent #2 from happening by studying. What are you doing to prevent #1? Test anxiety -- blanking on material that you know -- is an actual thing and it's an actual thing you can google and prevent and deal with even during the test if you need to. Learn and apply techniques for avoiding and overcoming test anxiety. I have seen these things work dramatically for my students.

As I said, I haven't written the bar and have only the vaguest sense of what it involves, so my answer to #2 should be taken with a bucket of salt, but I would think that what they want to see is to some extent your ability to reason legally. So, reason "out loud." what things would you have to consider to work this out...write about how you would have to consider those things and how they would affect whatever it is you're asked about. I'm sure you won't get "full marks" if it even works that way, but showing you know how to think like a lawyer must count for something.