Skip

Hello, darkness, my friend! (and guilt, and the bar exam)
July 3, 2014 9:40 PM   Subscribe

The bar exam is in 3 weeks. I'm feeling overwhelmed with guilt. Guilt I'm not studying enough. Guilt I'm not researching and writing briefs for work fast enough. And tremendous guilt that I've been a straight-up asshole with my family and friends. I'm not good at this balancing act.

This is not my first run at the bar exam, so I know what to expect. What I've had difficulty in, is managing my emotions. Namely, this crescendo of guilt coming at me full force.

Also, I am prone to severe anxiety, to the point where talking on the phone with friends can make me want to sh*t bricks. Especially so when I'm entrenched in something like bar study. There's a cruise ship's worth of activities flying around (weddings, birthdays-- most are immediately after the bar exam; friends have cajoled me to get out) and a friend who is going through some pretty severe things at home who has repeatedly asked to vent and chat with me (surprise, I've ignored her). I feel terrible not responding, yet if I respond, I know it's going to propel me further into this vat of guilt.

I know I am emotionally unavailable right now. How can I not be an asshole about this with those in my life? Next week is my last week at my firm before I take off to study full-time. Meditation has helped, as well as some in-home yoga.
posted by chloe.gelsomino to Human Relations (17 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Make yourself unavailable. It can be a Facebook status or a mass text or whatever, but just say "Hey, I'm really sorry, but I'm in hermit mode until the bar exam is done. Love you all, look forward to seeing you on the other side."

Bar exams are notorious for being major, high-stakes, extremely stressful events. Your friends will understand.
posted by kagredon at 9:59 PM on July 3 [11 favorites]