Join 3,553 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Grad school decisions
June 29, 2014 9:42 AM   Subscribe

I've been accepted into two MLIS programs. I need help deciding.

I got into Dominican University and University of Michigan's School of Information. From reading old AskMefi questions, I understand that work experience matters more than school reputation for getting a job. I plan on working in libraries in any capacity while getting my degree. I've been volunteering at a public library at home for the past 6 months and loving it. I would like to be a general librarian but hope to get enough tech knowledge for contingency plans under neoliberal budget hell. Fortunately, I will not go into debt for either school.

I volunteer with a woman who graduated from Dominican and she told me its classes aren't particularly useful and require lots of outside work to make relevant - but I've heard that about MLIS programs in general. Would Dominican's location near a large city provide more networking opportunities to make it worthwhile?

As a single 24 year old, I'm personally more inclined to move to Chicago, but I know that 2 years isn't a very long time and I won't necessarily find a job in the city I graduate in. So I'm still seriously considering Michigan if it has a stronger program.
posted by gorbweaver to Education (12 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Can you ask for contact information from either school from current students? They'll give you the most up-to-date information. Also, it's great that you won't go into debt but how do living expenses compare between cities? What about work opportunities during library school? How are placements for internships/availability of library assistant jobs in either location?
posted by PhoBWanKenobi at 9:46 AM on June 29