Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Math book recommendations?
June 24, 2014 2:09 PM   Subscribe

Years ago I read John Derbyshire's Prime Obsession: Bernhard Riemann and the Greatest Unsolved Problem in Mathematics and loved it. Now I'm studying formal theory/real analysis and I'm finding it really it interesting, but would like to be able to spend my downtime reading about the background of math and also explains some of the concepts. Thanks!
posted by MisantropicPainforest to Education (13 answers total) 34 users marked this as a favorite

Fermat's Enigma. Here's the summary:

xn + yn = zn, where n represents 3, 4, 5, ...no solution

"I have discovered a truly marvelous demonstration of this proposition which this margin is too narrow to contain."

With these words, the seventeenth-century French mathematician Pierre de Fermat threw down the gauntlet to future generations. What came to be known as Fermat's Last Theorem looked simple; proving it, however, became the Holy Grail of mathematics, baffling its finest minds for more than 350 years. In Fermat's Enigma--based on the author's award-winning documentary film, which aired on PBS's "Nova"--Simon Singh tells the astonishingly entertaining story of the pursuit of that grail, and the lives that were devoted to, sacrificed for, and saved by it. Here is a mesmerizing tale of heartbreak and mastery that will forever change your feelings about mathematics.

I actually cried when I read it.
posted by dawkins_7 at 2:13 PM on June 24 [1 favorite]

Godel, Escher, Bach is kind of the canonical recommendation for this question, especially if you haven't had any computation theory yet.
posted by telegraph at 2:22 PM on June 24 [1 favorite]

Everything and More is a flawed (gets tangled at the end, despite simplifying the math) but really fun book in this genre. I particularly love set theory and DFW non-fiction, so I may be biased here.