Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Making a stylus from the bamboo in my yard is probably not going to work
June 24, 2014 6:49 AM   Subscribe

I have a Bamboo tablet from a few years ago that Wacom no longer makes. I lost the stylus. Perhaps my google-fu is failing me, but it seems that a stylus that will work this is very hard to find. And when I can find it, it's $30 - and for not much more I can just get a used version of a newer pen/tablet but I don't want to buy a new one yet.

But then I'd have this tablet that has no stylus and I don't want to get rid of perfectly good hardware. Can anyone help me find a stylus that will work with this tablet for cheaper than $30? Maybe I'm missing something.

Tablet is model MTE-450a.

The pen for is it the E-150 but apparently the E-155 will work also.

I'm not a digital artist by any means but I'm starting to get into designing more and wanted to use this for a bit to see if it is useful before I get a fancier one. I had bought it a whie back to just use a mouse for a job where the ergonomics were horrific, so I've never used it for anything other than that, hence why I want to try out that side of it before spending more money on a new gadget.

Thanks!
posted by sio42 to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I have wacom tablets and yes replacement parts are that expensive. I paid $25 for 3 replacement plastic nibs that goes inside the stylus. I accepted that I was being hosed and just coughed up the money.
posted by St. Peepsburg at 7:03 AM on June 24

I'd be ok getting one of the newer styluses because I see they have some that work with a Samsung Note 3, which I have. But it seems like those won't work with the.older bamboo?

I'm really out of my depth here and googling has only made me more confused.
posted by sio42 at 7:25 AM on June 24

yeah wacom's website should be used as an example of how NOT to design a website... or a product line naming scheme...