Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How to Win Friends and Influence Peopleware
June 21, 2014 12:07 PM   Subscribe

What books can I read about the people side of managing software developers, as opposed to the process side?

So, I'm a software developer and I've been promoted to a management position in the last few months. I've spent my whole career learning about the process of delivering software and working in teams to get things done. I feel great about how that part of the job is going, and I have a great relationship with my superiors who value the process I've put in place and the work I've done recruiting to fill development roles on the team.

However, guess what, I've got some employees who are uncooperative. I have one very smart, very talented developer who I hired who seems to be straight up oppositional, in that they seem to take a strong position against whatever I've proposed on certain issues. They refuse to do things that I've asked them to, refusing to accept my rationale for their necessity as valid.

My thinking all along has been that not every work environment is for everyone and people I have this level of disagreement on basic values with will probably ultimately find another place to work, and that's fine. But at the same time, the job market for programmers is excellent and recruiting isn't going as well as it has in the past. In short, this programmer is difficult to work with, and difficult to replace.

It takes two to have a conflict, of course, and I'm aware that I can be overly direct or dismissive. I don't think I'm being totally unreasonable, but I'm sure I could do a better job of working with people in a way that promotes collaboration and leads to less friction.