Join 3,416 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Because my paper just isn't good enough for journal A
June 18, 2014 7:04 PM   Subscribe

How will I find journal B????

Dear Metafilter,

I am a graduate student and I've written a paper. It's not that great, but I'm okay with it. (Honestly, it's decent original data but a bit of a hodgepodge of ideas/starts from people who moved on or were too busy. I just finished collecting data for a second paper I plan to be much more proud of).

So this paper isn't good enough to get into my original target journal, biotechnology and bioengineering. Buuut how do I find a very similar journal, just with -1.5 impact factor?

I tried the journals my references published in: None were appropriate
I tried journals my group recently published in: Again, fail.

Any suggestions? The paper is currently tailored to an engineering audience but I guess I could retailor it (again).

Thanks MeFi!
posted by Kalmya to Education (12 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Have you actually submitted to journal A? Because the reviews will often help you refine and improve the paper, even if it is rejected. As for how to find journal B, I would speak to whoever your advisor is -- whether that person is on the paper or not, they would be your best guide.
posted by OrangeDisk at 7:10 PM on June 18 [1 favorite]

How do you know that your paper isn't truly good enough? Submit it -- you just might be surprised. If it doesn't make it in, you should get some good (hopefully) reviewer feedback that would make it a slam dunk for your #2 target journal. The reviewers/editors might even be able to suggest where to resubmit it to.
posted by un petit cadeau at 7:10 PM on June 18