Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help with circuit building, please!
June 11, 2014 7:55 PM   Subscribe

I'm interested in adapting this tutorial and this tutorial into a dress design. Basically, I want to keep the accelerometer as part of the design, but have lower profile lights and reduce the number of lines to two or three, somehow... I could solder two extra beads (right?) on but it would look better with just two or three beads/lines. What can I do? The accelerometer isn't super-required since I can just program sparkles, so losing that isn't completely off the table.

I know this is a n00b question, and I appreciate your patience. :) Feel free to educate me as to how/why this is or isn't possible. I have some basic knowledge about this stuff, though.

Let me know if you have questions. I have sketches of my design, if needed. Thanks!
posted by ancient star to Technology (6 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

It's also worth mentioning that I don't need color LEDs; I just want sparkly white lights, and that I'm pretty sure I mistakenly thought I wouldn't need anything other than those sequin lights, but now I'm realizing that I would need a board for them to do fun programming things (right?).

Sorry, and thanks again!
posted by ancient star at 8:03 PM on June 11

The sparkle effect comes from the fact that the NeoPixels are individually addressable. The three wires deliver power, ground, and data to let the Flora control board turn the pixels on and off under software control.

You could adapt to a two-wire design (only power and ground), which would be easier to construct and you could use cheaper LED elements, but then you lose the sparkle.

You could, however, change to a self-blinking LED and count on the fact that they will fall in and out of sync on their own.
posted by JoeZydeco at 8:28 PM on June 11

Welcome to the wonderful world of etextiles!