Join 3,564 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Applying for FoodStamps want to be ethical, get approved, it's complex
June 9, 2014 1:21 PM   Subscribe

OK, so I am a grad student and I have been struggling to get by on student loans. I found out that if I am eligible for work study, which I am! Then I am eligible for food stamps- the $200 in food stamps a month would really help me out. My tuition is high (I don't have support from my family- Ha! I help them) and last month my student loans ran short, I had to get an increase and was late on rent.

My work study will not be awarded until July. The case worker says she needs my last 4 paychecks. I just started working for Ivy League (not my school) and have worked for 5 weeks. My first paycheck included my first two weeks, and it does not break it down by the weeks I worked. The case worker says she needs a letter from Ivy League about my rate of pay, and approximate hours per week and when I am paid. Of course, I want to be ethical, I am only working 10- 15 hours a week so I should qualify. But, I am embarrassed to ask Ivy League for the letter. I am a brown girl trying to hustle and get the creds on my cv- ya know, most people at this school are very privileged, so I don't want to lose out on the opportunity to keep working at Ivy League. Sure they would not discriminate, but you know it is awkward. I wish I could say I need this letter for a scholarship, but that would not be ethical. So what to do here? If I don't get the letter in on time than I will be denied.