Can a softball umpire make a call based on a play they did not see?
May 25, 2014 4:59 AM Subscribe
Is there an official rule in amateur softball about when an umpire can reverse a call? We had a single umpire at a youth game who made a "safe" call at first, then was told by a coach that the catcher was hit by the bat. The umpire reversed the call and called the batter out at first.
When asked the umpire said heard the bat hit something but wouldn't say he saw it.
Is there a rule in this circumstance as to whether an umpire can 1) make a call on a play he did not see; or 2) reverse a call on a play he did not see?
I can only find answers for multiple umpires at a game, not for a solo umpire.
posted by nathanrudy to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (9 answers total)