Join 3,432 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Get Me to the Wedding On Tiiiiiime (DC to NYC edition)
May 14, 2014 5:14 PM   Subscribe

Hi, wonderful Mefites! I am thinking of driving from DC to New York City for a wedding next Thursday (the 22nd). Google tells me that driving time (from DC to an address on W 159th) is just shy of 4 hours. Considering that this will be a weekend, and holiday weekend, what is a more realistic driving time? (extra driver snowflakes inside)

I am especially concerned about the quality (speed and stop and go) of traffic coming into New York. While I'm a good long-distance driver on highways, due to disability, if I have 1 or 2 hours driving up 95 and THEN ALSO stop and go traffic going into the city, fatigue takes a toll on my endurance and reaction time. I have not been able to find another driver to share the trip. My alternative is to take a bus into the city, which I know traffic time will also affect.

Any of your thoughts on

(1) the realistic time for this trip
(2) the nature of traffic going into NYC and over the GW bridge
(3) if I am driving, best routes

would be much appreciated. Thanks!
posted by warm_planet to Travel & Transportation (11 answers total)

I've done a decent amount of driving on that stretch of 95; on Thanksgiving weekend, that trip took me about 8 hours.

There are some alternative routes- if you want to avoid Baltimore, take 301; you could also take 78 up through PA to avoid New Jersey. The Turnpike can be awful on holiday weekends. But once you get close to New York, you're going to get backed up getting there no matter which way you go. Try to not get there during either rush hour if you can (yes, it's bad, even going "the wrong way".)