Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

This is My Design
May 4, 2014 5:54 PM   Subscribe

One of my bestest friends ever has completed several years of an insane schedule of schooling + two jobs to earn a Masters and is now moving on to a residency far far away. My wife and I had our schedule open up, and we're now hosting a last minute dinner on Tuesday. Help me plan the most over-the-top meal possible in less than 48 hours.

Theme: My friend has asked for fish. I'm thinking that I'm all in and doing a feast of the seven fishes. I really don't care that a) it's not Christmas eve, and b) I'm not Italian. I normally don't need an excuse for good food. I'm figuring that since I'm cooking for 3, I can scale down portion size to control cost and maintain appetites through the meal.

My kitchen: Two halfsize ovens (one is convection), an induction cooktop, and a full rig for sous vide.

My skills: I'm a competent home cook. I've done multicourse before, largely by printing out a playbook of what to do and taping it to the wall in the kitchen. It turned out well. My regular cooking style is a mishmash of traditional French, modernist, and Morroccan. I am not particularly clever with plating and presentation (hope me!).

Things I have in mind thus far:

- I am definitely doing some variety of white fish in a salt crust. Largely because you can't really eff it up.
- I am figuring on some variety of fish tagine (I have four beautiful aubergine Le Creuset cocottes that will make for easy nifty presentation; I also make tagines all the time and this is easy and safe for me)
- Thinking about some scallops over a risotto made with toasted corn stock. I have pressure cooked risotto down to a science, and a decent bit of toasted corn stock floating around.

I have nothing else spectacular floating around my pantry, but do have a good local fish place to hit up, and work for a major local grocery chain.

So, hive: what else should I make, besides something salmon?