Join 3,557 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Using Facebook, non-obnoxiously, to promote your work
April 23, 2014 3:28 PM   Subscribe

Are you an author, musician, artist, or other creative-ish person who's found successful (and polite) ways to use Facebook to connect with people interested in your work? I'd love to know your secrets.

I'm a journalist and author, and like mathowie, I love Twitter and barely tolerate Facebook. As well a being fun and a source of ideas, Twitter's a useful way to spread the word about my articles, books and events. It feels easy to get the balance right between self-promotional stuff and other things – and anyway, anyone who thinks I'm getting it wrong can easily unfollow me.

In contrast, Facebook's a baffling mess. I have a Page, and some subscribers to my Profile; as well as regular Facebook friends (currently limited to people I know offline). I'm constantly confused about personal/professional boundaries – about what to post, how much, and when; how to keep subscribers up to date without irritating friends; and whether subscribers/page-likers are even seeing my stuff anyway. I'm constantly stumped by questions like: should I be focusing exclusively on the Page or on Profile subscribers? I get lots of friend requests from strangers – should I be accepting them? (I currently don't.) Can I somehow display a message asking those people to subscribe instead of sending requests, so it doesn't just seem like I'm ignoring them? (I used to do this, but a Facebook redesign eliminated the message.) I could go on for much longer, but you get the idea.