Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How to buy a flat in London?
April 21, 2014 10:54 PM   Subscribe

I would like to ask you for any advice/hints/tips for a complete beginner on buying a flat in London. This is the first time in my life when I am buying a property I am really overwhelmed by this whole thing. That's why I would appreciate any feedback and advice from you. Anything which could help me plan this whole process and do it in a proper, organized and satisfying way.

I am a foreigner who has been living in the UK since 2004 (in London since 2007). I have been working in IT all my life and I managed to save some money during all these years. This sum should be a good start to get an attractive mortgage. For a considerable future, I think I would like to stay in London. I like the cultural life here and the enormous possibilities of personal development and growth. That's why I am thinking about buying a flat for myself to live there. Even if I were to move to a different country - I think I would be happy renting this flat. What I mean is that I would not probably want to sell it within the next 2-20 years. I am single and the flat would be for myself only. I would expect this flat to be at least a good way to preserve some wealth over all these years (inflation, etc.). This is a second reason I would like to buy it.