Skip

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body...
April 17, 2014 11:35 AM   Subscribe

Should I put more effort into reading books? Is not reading books detrimental to my critical thinking skills?

I feel a bit ashamed admitting this, but I don't really like to read books. I can read short-form stories and articles, but it's been only a few books that could hold my attention enough to read to completion. I know I shouldn't feel guilty putting down a book if I lose interest, but this happens with just about every book I attempt, regardless of genre. This has been for pretty much my whole life. I was a high achieving student (and could force myself to read assigned books for class), but was never one to read for pleasure. I don't think I've ever seen either one of my parents read a book and they are both thoughtful individuals.

Is this bad for me? Does this sort of intollerance of long form stunt my thinking?

Part of what has driven me to ask this is that I've noticed that the internet has been flooding us with more and more drivel in teh short form making it hard to find the gems, and thus i feel i read a lot of garbage trying to find something worthwhile.

Should I put more effort into reading books, or is it ok to just let it go without being anti-intellect?
posted by WeekendJen to Grab Bag (21 answers total) 16 users marked this as a favorite

If you just kind of don't enjoy reading books, I'd say there's no reason to force yourself. You're not going to get anything out of a book you don't actually want to read, and if you don't actually want to read it, you might as well just not, and save yourself the time and effort.
posted by FAMOUS MONSTER at 11:40 AM on April 17 [1 favorite]

I personally know lots of smart people who read more articles and such than books. I think overall you're fine.