Join 3,440 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Does The Scarlet Letter belong to a literary genre?
April 9, 2014 12:13 PM   Subscribe

Does The Scarlet Letter belong to a literary genre? How would publishers market the book today, and on what book shelf would you find it in the book store? Same question for The Brothers Karamazov. Could these stories, if they were told in a prose style indicative of the 21st c, find a publisher?
posted by jwhite1979 to Writing & Language (12 answers total)

Speaking as a librarian, I don't think of these things as genre fiction particularly although the religious themes in The Scarlet Letter make it a decent candidate for Christian Fiction which is a huge and growing genre especially in parts of the US. Lots of literature nowadays just falls into the general fiction category without being any specific genre. I sometimes feel like the "genre-izing" of everything is just a sales and marketing exercise and doesn't really tell you much about the book itself, it's just to guide people's shopping decisions.
posted by jessamyn at 12:29 PM on April 9 [3 favorites]

I agree, jessamyn. I only ask because I'm working on my first book and trying to think about how I will market it to an agent. It takes place in 14th c. West Sussex; the plague has wiped out the clergy of a rural parish church, and a few mysterious characters arrive in town, along with a macguffin. Intrigue ensues. The book is mostly an exploration of various religious experiences and how they are evoked in the mind of a schizoid protagonist. I know none of this has much to do with the books I mentioned, but my character development is Hawthorne-esque, and, like TBK, I'm using a rather tightly-plotted story to explore religious themes.
posted by jwhite1979 at 12:47 PM on April 9

Given that it was written in 1850 about events supposed to have taken place around 1650, I'd call it "historical fiction". Alexandre Dumas was in the same genre space.