Skip

Cool, modern, trustworthy site to sell articles from
April 4, 2014 4:25 PM   Subscribe

I want to sell what I write as a 'packaged' article or essay. Best spots to do this?

I've grown weary of writing and publishing articles on my website for free. I'm a professional (really, I am) so it's not like I do half-ass stuff, it's hard work and, well, I'm tired of this business model of "give it for free and maybe they will come." Or whatever.

I'd like to do a mix now. Some freebie posts but then, also, the more meatier, involved work I'd offer for sale as a download.

Where is a hip, smart, modern spot to do this sort of thing? Or should I just do PayPal and email people PDF versions after they have paid. Seems hokey that way.

Or does someone have a better alternative? I'd considered Amazon, but Christ, they take a large cut. It's prohibitive.
posted by zenpop to Work & Money (11 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Patreon?
posted by kagredon at 5:20 PM on April 4

Are you looking to publish on a website that will pay you for your articles, or publish them yourself behind a paywall?

If the former, it would help to know what kind of stuff you write.
posted by third word on a random page at 5:26 PM on April 4

Gumroad handles selling digital files fairly seamlessly. Might be good to offer it as a ZIP with ereader book formats plus PDF, so people can put things on their ereaders.
posted by foxfirefey at 5:27 PM on April 4

I've seen some folks selling ebooks via Gumroad lately (notably Jacob Clifton in the wake of the closing of Television Without Pity). Looks like the fee is 5% plus 25 cents.
posted by bcwinters at 5:27 PM on April 4

I write metaphysical articles -- third word on a random page, and have my own website, with a 'following' and large FB presence (ugh, did I just write that?). I'd considered setting up a password protected sort of arrangement on the website, but like the idea of PDFs or something of that ilk better.