Join 3,552 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Dessert recipe needing no refrigeration and easy to travel with?
April 1, 2014 6:07 PM   Subscribe

I am attending a barbecue this weekend and have volunteered to bring an awesome dessert. Difficulty level: I will be traveling 2 hours by car the day before to get to where the barbecue is and spending that day and the next doing something else, I will have no access to refrigeration for at least 8-12 hours at a time for those 2 days before the barbecue, assume I will not be able to do anything much in terms of last-minute preparation (like whipping cream immediately before serving), no fruit please. I will need to prepare it Thursday night to serve Saturday night. I am a reasonably experienced cook.

TL:DR: please give me your best dessert recipes meeting the following criteria:
- easy to travel with by car
- needs no refrigeration
- no fruit
- super yummy
- cookie recipes are a-ok as long as they are awesome, it doesn't have to be fancy, just yummy!
posted by biscotti to Food & Drink (21 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

I make blondies, which are super-easy, are a nice twist on brownies, and you can put just about anything you like inside, in lieu of the chocolate or butterscotch chips.
posted by xingcat at 6:10 PM on April 1 [3 favorites]

A tray of Baklava

or maybe something like this syrup cake. (yogurt as a side may be an issue for you though?)

Oops - they all have fruit - sorry!
posted by insomniax at 6:18 PM on April 1

Whenever I need a showstopper dessert, I turn to smitten kitchen. I've made a TON of desserts from her blog and I've never been anything but wildly happy with the results. For your current purposes, some type of brownie is probably your best bet; these peanut butter brownies are seriously calling to me right now.
posted by gatorae at 6:23 PM on April 1 [4 favorites]