Join 3,501 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Advice for hotel/resort booking with AmEx rewards?
March 31, 2014 8:45 AM   Subscribe

I have a zillion AmEx rewards points on a card I use for work, and my wife and I would like to use them to stay in a resort/hotel in Hawaii this summer (Kona/Waikoloa area), also booking a (possibly adjoining, but that's not a big deal) room for my mother to join us. I've never done that before (the points part - I totally know how to go on vacation), and I'm looking for advice on getting it right.

We're close to having enough points for the entire stay (2 rooms for 4 nights each), but it might take another month or two. Paying a few hundred bucks to make up the difference wouldn't be a big deal, but it would be sweet to get as much of the trip for free as possible.

My questions:
-Will the prices (we're mostly looking at the Marriott, the Hilton and the Sheraton) go up soon? Down soon? Is there some predictable arc or "best time to book?"
-Should I book directly through the Amex rewards site, or convert the rewards points to the resort's program and then book? When I make a cursory look it seem like the prices are very similar, but I also get the idea I'm missing something.
-Should I do this over the phone (somehow?) to ask about upgrades, freebies, etc?
-What else am I missing?
posted by Ignatius J. Reilly to Travel & Transportation around Kailua-Kona, HI (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

The first question you should be asking is: Does your employer allow this?

I know that I can only use my corporate AmEx card for travel-related expenses incurred while on official company business. Then again, my card does not accrue any rewards points. This is kind of a fuzzy situation.
posted by tckma at 8:59 AM on March 31