Skip

Vaping with Snowflakes
March 21, 2014 11:01 AM   Subscribe

73 year old mom-in-law has terrible neuropathy in her hands and feet and is finally finding that pot relieves it after trying a billion other things. Husband uses for pain for his medical condition and has a prescription, so we're quite up to date on types of strains, etc. Here's the deal. We're super-old school and have never used a vaporizer. This is basically a vape lesson for a complete newbie.

She is living with us and currently they are shotgunning because she has no idea how to smoke and frankly she doesn't really want to smoke as she has already survived cancer once. Edibles don't work fast enough and are hard to dose.

She's moving into assisted living in a month and needs to be able to do it herself with the neuropathy in her hands. Here are our snowflakes:

- nothing small and hard to fill (really painful neuropathy)
- nothing that she will accidentally inhale liquid or wax.
- something easy to learn how to use, she tends to avoid things that are too much bother
- Something that is at least portable enough to stick in a drawer and hide from housekeeping
- something less than $100.

I am looking for specifics here. If you have a brand name or know of a specific type that would work for my elderly mom, I would really appreciate all the info you can give.

(I've read the previouslies, but most are from 3-5 years ago and I have to believe that technology has improved since those questions. Also, not worried about anonymity. Frankly, if they're going to arrest my 73 year old mother-in-law who is caring for my Alzheimer's addled father-in-law 24 hours a day, she'd probably appreciate the respite.)
posted by Sophie1 to Health & Fitness (9 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite