Join 3,436 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Upward Bound
March 15, 2014 4:01 PM   Subscribe

[rock climbing filter] Each year I make it a goal that this will be the year that I start climbing outdoors. It hasn't happened yet. Now that spring seems finally to be here, outdoor climbing season is upon us. How can I hook up with a group of friendly local climbers that will take me under their wing and show me the ropes (no pun intended).

The details: I live in NYC. There are climbable boulders in Central Park, but beyond that the nearest climbing location is the Gunks which is about 2 hours away by car. I've heard of some NYC climbers doing short trips up to New Hampshire. Other than that I don't know where you'd go.

Me: gym bred and self taught. Exclusively boulder but interested in top roping outside. I can climb most problems through V4. I guess that would translate me to a 5.12 top roper? Other than shoes and chalk, I own no gear. I don't have a car. No one in my social network, to the best of my knowledge, climbs outdoors nor is interested in doing so.

I've experimented with ClimbFind before and haven't had any real success with it. I've also looked into Meetup.com. There seems to be only one climbing related group that coordinates outdoor trips, Rock & Ice. This might be my best shot as they do offer carpooling and partnering, but I get the sense that I wouldn't meet my partner(s) until the day of, which makes me somewhat uneasy. I want to feel comfortable ahead of time with whoever is going to belay for me.

So anyway, I'm hoping you guys might be able to provide some additional resources to check out. Bonus points if anyone in the area climbs and has an extra spot in their car.
posted by prunes to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (11 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I'm not super active in the rock climbing community at the moment, and when I was I rock climbed in Boston but maybe this will help.