Skip

Is this offensive: cover letter edition.
March 10, 2014 11:40 PM   Subscribe

I want to sell my experience as a teacher in urban, diverse, low-income communities, both in terms of commitment and know-how. Is there a better of way of saying that I have taught student populations in urban, diverse, low-income communities?

I feel like the way I am phrasing it sounds like some unfortunate conservative dog whistle, but I'm not sure how else to say it. Anybody have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
posted by angrycat to Work & Money (22 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

In past cover letters, I've used the phrasing: "teaching diverse populations* of public school students" and "as the [job position] in a low-income [X size] [type of institution]."

I hope those aren't dog whistles, because I was describing places where I've worked but where, previous to that, I was a student or resident myself.

I think you're going to get some leeway in terms of your phrasing anyway, because it's probably going to be obvious, based on the jobs you're applying for, why you're highlighting what you're highlighting about your previous experience.

*Looking at it now, I'm wondering if it should be "a diverse population"? But that would sound like I'm only talking about one measure of diversity? Aw well, that's all a bit nit-picky maybe.
posted by rue72 at 12:04 AM on March 11

I cannot think of a less-offensive euphemism than what you gave.
posted by thelonius at 1:19 AM on March 11 [6 favorites]

My limited experience is that those are exactly the sorts of terms that managers and administrators use themselves, and the order you put them in sounds levelheaded.
posted by Kakkerlak at 2:29 AM on March 11 [2 favorites]

I feel like the way I am phrasing it sounds like some unfortunate conservative dog whistle