Join 3,424 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Babka. Hamentaschen. Babkataschen?
March 4, 2014 6:36 PM   Subscribe

Bakers! Especially, but not exclusively, bakers of babka and hamantaschen! Help me brainstorm a hamantaschen that is babka based, but still identifiably hamantaschen!

Purim is the 15-16th of March this year.
I happen to have some time beforehand to be a little ambitious in my mishloach manot this year.
I've made piles and piles of creative-filling hamantaschen in my time, but have always stuck with a traditional hamantaschen dough. [Orange juice is key! And I use butter, but this recipe is pareve]. I am intrigued by making a creative leap and incorporating babka. For my friends, Green's babka is the standard bearer. I'm a very competent baker, breads included, although I've never taken the time to make babka. Smitten Kitchen has this pretty awesome babka recipe that claims to be [I think] very Green's like.
The question is: how to make it into hamantaschen dough.
My goal is to end up with babka dough that I then flatten/roll out, and then use as hamantaschen dough [cutting out circles, filling, folding]. Sort of like those "cinnamon roll pie crust" recipes, but not so pretty.
And then, I guess reserve some of the chocolate from the dough recipe, incorporate strussel and use as filling?
This is where I need your help/experience/ideas!
-I'm not tied to the linked babka recipe if you have a better idea.
-while I'd rather they not crumble if I look at them wrong, they're not traveling too much.
Guide me in converting babka into something that is still recognizably hamantaschen!
posted by atomicstone to Food & Drink (7 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite

oh my god, what an amazing idea. I will probably answer several times, but off the top of my head -

- the dough will need to be a yeast dough to get the delicious babka flavor. Luckily yeast dough hamantaschen is totally a thing and there are a zillion recipes.