Join 3,440 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Building a subtitle screening box!
March 3, 2014 9:52 PM   Subscribe

I'm looking into the concept of building a machine specifically for screening subtitles in a movie theater.

The theater in question has a DCP unit that gives out timecode in LTC format. Basically, I'd like to take a small computer (preferably Mac) with a BNC input, hooked up to a small projector, and be able to screen timed subtitles in sync with the incoming LTC timecode.
So basically I need to focus on:
1. Hardware - I know AJA and others make cards with BNC inputs, so I guess it shouldn't be too hard to find one and a Mac to go with it. (Any specific recommendations?)
2. Software - this one's a bigger mystery for me, and what I need more help with. I've been working with subtitles for many years, but never worked with a BNC input or with a live external timecode. Anyone familiar with existing software that can basically marry incoming LTC with an existing SRT, or other subtitle file? I'm sorta hoping that a component of VLC (open source) could suffice. I'd also need the ability to control font size, location onscreen etc.
3. Final question - If I'm to build this thing, I'll have about six weeks to do it... Do you guys think it's doable?
Thanks very much, everyone. Any help is appreciated.
posted by Silky Slim to Computers & Internet (6 answers total)

Can you be more specific about what you're trying to do? I see that you do subtitle translation — so are you thinking of taking your subs and projecting them in sync over unsubtitled DCPs at a festival, or something like that? Will this be for one-time screenings, or for a run of something, or for something more permanent?
posted by bubukaba at 11:53 PM on March 3 [1 favorite]

One or all of the above :^)
A festival for starters, perhaps something more durable down the road.
posted by Silky Slim at 11:57 PM on March 3