Join 3,376 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

International wedding registry headaches
February 26, 2014 3:15 PM   Subscribe

Difficulty level: Dutch/Canadian/Australian. Mr Fish and I are getting married in July. A lot of Mr Fish's Canadian family are coming, and this is my first time meeting a lot of them. We absolutely do not expect gifts but we're already getting questions about registries. Do international registries exist?

We're adults with jobs and a home so we don't really *need* stuff, but our extended family seem bent on giving us stuff and we profoundly do not need any more dishes or table cloths.

For reference: we are Australian and Canadian. We live in the Netherlands. We speak/read passable Dutch. Our families (large amount from Canada, breathtakingly tiny amount from Australia, a pleasingly large amount of not-very-wealthy academic type friends from Australia, plenty of Amsterdam expat ad industry types) do not. We're starting to get questions about wedding gifts that we're presently ill equipped to handle.

Best case scenario is one of those honeymoon registries so we can upgrade our Croatia honeymoon from AirBnBs and beer to the odd hotel and cocktail, and goodness knows cash would always be welcome. But our overall goal here is to set up a registry so that well-meaning relatives can buy a gift that we actually need at a variety of price points when asked. To reiterate, we do not expect or want gifts, but we're starting to field questions.

Does a mystical international gift registry exist?
posted by nerdfish to Human Relations (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite