Skip

oh god no
February 22, 2014 8:23 PM   Subscribe

I was searching under my bed with a flashlight for an earring I dropped and in the process discovered a bug near the edge of my bedsheets. I killed the bug with a Kleenex and flushed it but didn't think to take a photo of it and now I am paranoid that it was a bedbug. Am googling pictures of bedbugs and the thing I found does look similar to what Google is showing. So...I guess I found a bedbug. Help me figure out my next steps.

I guess that's it...what do I do now that I found what might be a bedbug? Call an exterminator in the morning? What else can I do in the meantime? I am panicking a little bit right now - I work in the hospitality industry and given the bedbug panic of the last few years this is literally my worst nightmare - and I'm kind of freezing up and dont know what to do and am sort of afraid to go to sleep.

Haven't noticed any bug bites in the last few days, nor is there any evidence of bug droppings anywhere. This is the first time I have encountered a bug in my bedroom. I have no idea what my next steps should be. Please help me figure out what to do before I flip out and like burn all of my sheets and clothes and stuff.
posted by thereemix to Home & Garden (11 answers total)

I think they say you can put some double sided tape around your bed frame to catch some overnight? I totally feel you, though. I wouldn't feel great right now, either. My sympathies.
posted by ancient star at 8:29 PM on February 22 [1 favorite]

Before you freak out, it might of been a carpet beetle or fur beetle. They look quite similar to bedbugs.
posted by littlesq at 8:33 PM on February 22

Haven't noticed any bug bites in the last few days, nor is there any evidence of bug droppings anywhere. This is the first time I have encountered a bug in my bedroom.