Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Help me be a substitute teacher
February 18, 2014 1:59 PM   Subscribe

I'm substituting as a German teacher for a class of seven Japanese students of varying ages and levels (and attendance.) Help, please?

The Japanese school where I used to work as an intern has recently re-hired me to substitute as a German teacher for an hour two times a week. (The usual teacher is on maternity leave and hasn't left any documentation on what she has previously done. I love it when people do that...) I know all the kids from before, and I know that their levels (and ages: 8 to 14!) vary. They're all in the advanced class because the school just bumps whoever is closest to good when the intermediate class is full (same with the beginner's class where kids get bumped to intermediate), and no one seems to actually expect the kids to really learn German, but I'm getting paid for this and I'd love to get the kids a little excited about their classes. (Plus doing pointless work might make me depressed.)