Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Retrieving Iphone notes
February 16, 2014 4:17 PM   Subscribe

Looking for a program that will help rescue my lost notes...

Yesterday I was fiddling around with my phone when I noticed that most of the notes in my Notes app were gone. It's not the end of the world, but I have some mild-OCDness about writing stuff down that's stuck in my head so I can "free up the space" so to speak, and losing all that information is giving me some anxiety. I'm an artist and it'd also be nice to retrieve drawing/story ideas that I had there.

I have an iphone 4s and just recently upgraded to ios7. I googled the problem and tried some of the solutions offered ("turn off notes tab under email, reset phone, etc etc") and the notes haven't come back. Unfortunately, I don't have a Cloud backup--I turned the backup function off when it was causing storage issues previously, my bad there. No iTunes backup, either. Finally I tried an Iphone recovery program--Wondershare Dr. Fone for iOS, specifically--and a scan with the free trial turned up my missing/deleted notes. The recovery for the notes requires buying the program, however, and I'm balking at the $100 pricetag, especially for a program that has some poor reviews online.

Are there any other similar programs out there that can retrieve lost info? Any suggestions or solutions are welcome. I would begrudgingly pay the price above, if the program worked well (just for peace of mind)...but I thought I'd ask around first.
posted by sprezzy to Technology (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I've had good luck recovering things for people using iExplorer. The demo has limits on recovering things like music tracks, and I believe it won't actually let you export the text of your notes if you don't pay for it--but you can take screenshots or whatever, which in this case should be better than nothing.