Skip

Angry Bastard Music?
February 4, 2014 9:11 AM   Subscribe

I have been in a bad mood lately, and need some angry bastard music to get me through it & help me kick some butts. A small list of special snowflake details inside...

• I'm not very good with abrasive stuff, especially vocals - Pig Destroyer is right out.
  • Lots of intensity for sustained periods is hard to deal with. Lightning Bolt is amazing, but after one or two tracks I'm done.
  • To stick with metal, Baroness is an okay solution, I think, as is Black Sabbath. Are there instrumental equivalents?
  • I used to go for industrial (e.g. VNV Nation), but now find it a bit more boring than I once did. Stuff like Shackleton is a bit too depressing, as opposed to aggressive.
  • Yeezus has worked pretty darn well, and other material in a similar sonic vein would be welcome. That said, my experience with rap can run hot-cold. Instrumental jams are preferred, especially if I'm going to destroy evil as I work.
  • Post-rock is okay, but I've heard a fair amount of loud-soft-loud. Not something I'd rule out, but if it has more to it than that I'd be happy.
posted by Going To Maine to Media & Arts (18 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite

Fear Factory's "Obsolete" would scratch this itch for me.
posted by jbickers at 9:15 AM on February 4 [1 favorite]

Foetus?
posted by infinitywaltz at 9:29 AM on February 4

I'mma lay some old-school on you:

Ministry

Boris Mikulic

KMFDM

Nihilistic anger of the ancients.
posted by BigLankyBastard at 9:32 AM on February 4 [1 favorite]

Check out Hymns from Godflesh. Can't go wrong.
posted by Otis at 9:32 AM on February 4 [1 favorite]

You might enjoy almost everything by Nomeansno.
posted by vrakatar at 10:24 AM on February 4 [1 favorite]

Seconding Swans.

Also kinda old-school: Barkmarket & Unsane

In the sludge/stoner/kinda sorta "classic" metal vein: Red Fang, High On Fire, maybe some Mastodon