Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Hypertension treatment logic
February 2, 2014 4:40 AM   Subscribe

I am a 52 year-old male with high systolic blood pressure (around 150/80-90). For a year I've been on 10 mg of Lisinopril (an ACE inhibitor) which didn't make much difference; my doctor thus raised the dose to 20 mg, which also isn't making much difference. The doctor is now recommending that I add another pill into the mix, making a "combination treatment" which I believe it standard. What I don't understand, and what nobody has been able to clearly explain to me, is the logic of continuing to take, every day, 20 mg of a pill that has been proven not make a difference. What's the thinking behind this, rather than simply trying out a one-pill solution that might make a difference?
posted by Holly to Health & Fitness (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I have no direct knowledge of these medications, but generally, some pills boost the effectiveness of other pills. That'd be my guess.

It could also be something along the lines of pill A does a pretty good job, usually. Pill B does a phenomenal job, but with consequences. Just a little bit of Pill B can boost the effectiveness of Pill A, keeping you out of the range of having to take a lot of Pill B with the bad consequences.

It could also be that Pill A needs to be cancelled slowly, and if B is effective, they'll take you off of A slowly.

It can get pretty complicated, and clinicians often follow best practice guidelines and may have read the journal articles, but it might be old news. Like, they read the articles 5 years ago (7000 articles ago) and don't remember exactly why this is best practice, but have the confidence that it is.

You're right to be curious - it is a totally legit question. you could print out this askme and bring it with you to your next appointment. Or ask a pharmacist! They're often happy to take a stab at questions like "what is my doctor thinking?"