Join 3,362 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

You are what you eat...
January 31, 2014 3:21 AM   Subscribe

What is my daily food intake missing? Critiques please!

I've been eating really badly for a year or so due to new found singledom and general lack of motivation to do otherwise. So mainly carbs...sandwiches, pasta, pastry products, chocolate, processed meats and the usual proteins (chicken, beef, pork) etc. barely any fruit, vegetables, whole grains or other good stuff. I look and feel like crap and my digestion is way off kilter (IBS?) so am going to make a serious attempt to get some good stuff in me and try to feel better again. Some weight loss would be good but am hoping the new diet and extra exercise will aid that. Upside is I am a pretty good cook and can turn my hand to most things in the kitchen. So my eating plan is as follows...

Three meals a day, no snacks if possible.

Breakfast: Bircher style muesli. Made myself from rolled oats, bran, dried fruit, nuts. Soaked overnight in milk and grated apple. Served with sliced banana and a little honey.

Lunch: A bowl of some sort of simple salad e.g. Green leaves, tomatoes, olives, slices of grilled chicken a little olive oil/lemon juice dressing.

Dinner: Grilled chicken or steamed fish with green vegetables (broccoli, spinach, asparagus, green beans etc) or other veggie fare.

Once a week I'd like to have some dinner that was a bit unhealthy to keep and temptations and cravings at bay but otherwise I'll try to stick to the above with as many variations on the theme as possible to keep it from getting boring.

I'm trying to keep it fresh, unprocessed and avoid the things that might be bad for me in the long run.

Anything all this is lacking or needs? Is this a balanced diet for a 39 year old man?

Thanks in advance!
posted by Caskeum to Health & Fitness (16 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite