Skip

Help me find a great COTS graphics/multimedia PC
January 28, 2014 7:30 AM   Subscribe

I'm a graphics and multimedia artist working for the federal government who's always used Macs. It's again time for me to get a new system (laptop, please) and for the first time in my career I feel the need to explore my PC options (Apple has apparently abandoned its professional users). Unfortunately, I have no idea where to start looking. My new system needs to be commercially available from a vendor that can do business with the federal government. Building my own system is not an option. I perform a full range of creative functions including graphic design, video editing, photography and webcast hosting, so I need plenty of graphics power and fast processing. I don't, however, need a huge local storage capacity since I work off of our LAN. Where do I start looking? Any recommendations on models and/or features?
posted by Jamesonian to Computers & Internet (10 answers total)

MacBookPros totally cover all those options. Could you be more specific what it is you don't like about the current crop of MBPs?
posted by chairface at 7:44 AM on January 28

Yeah, I'd think a MacBook Pro would still be your best option, even if you have to invest in some external thunderbolt equipment.
posted by Oktober at 7:57 AM on January 28

As far as I'm concerned the only two options for laptops are MacBooks and ThinkPads. With everything else there are just too many bad options; it's a minefield of crap. And even then, the ThinkPad brand has been diluted a bit so you'd want to stick to something on their high end, such as their T series and W series, and then something with Nvidia graphics.