Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Advice for a teacher getting their master's degree
January 18, 2014 1:35 PM   Subscribe

I'm in my second year of teaching, but I had a late start and have had my BA for 8 years now. I want to get my MA, but I'm not sure if (1) this is the time or (2) if I should focus on my content area or on education in general.

I teach high school social studies. My BA is in History, which is all I'm currently teaching.

I'm almost 30, so I feel like I should be looking at starting my Master's, but if I start in the fall of this year, I'll only have 2 years of full-time teaching under my belt. Is there any reason I shouldn't start my Master's this fall? (I will be doing it online, FWIW...)

Also, I am passionate about history. I love it. And the idea of taking 36 credits of graduate-level history classes sounds absolutely thrilling. So I currently want to get my MA in History. But is this really the smart thing to do? Should I just get my MA in Education? I find many education classes interesting and useful, but not nearly as exciting as history classes. I know that some MA/MEd programs allow you to specialize and take content classes, but how do schools/districts look at different MA's?

Part of the problem is I'm not sure where I see myself in 10-15 years. Right now I don't think I want to get into administration, but maybe I'll change my mind on that. I don't think I want to move into higher education, but that could change as well. (I think it's safe to say I will not ever seek a PhD.) What's the best option?

(I've looked at other AskMe questions on MA's in education, but I didn't see anything that matched my snowflake situation...)
posted by BradNelson to Education (11 answers total)

It doesn't sound like you have a real reason for getting either degree. Maybe hold off until you're certain what you want to accomplish and then go for it? No reason to waste money in grad school on an MA you'll never really use.